

Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting

June 27, 2018 Montreal, Quebec

Attendees: Pamela Holens, Aislin Mushquash, Caelin White, Matthew Bernstein, Keith Dobson, Jonathan Jette, Chris Mushquash, Jeremiah Buhler, Maxine Holmqvist, Faye Doell, Jacquie Cohen, Kristin Reynolds, Margaret Lumley, Deb Dobson, Patricia Furer (n = 15)

- **1. Approval of the Agenda** Motion to approve minutes: Caelin White; Kristin Reynolds (second).
- **2. Approval of Minutes of June 9, 2017 ABM** Motion to approve minutes: Maxine Holmqvist; Keith Dobson (second).

3. Report from the Chair (Aislin Mushquash)

Section Activities

The clinical section executive met four times over the past year: in the summer at the Annual Business Meeting (ABM), in the fall and spring by teleconference, and during the winter in Winnipeg. The section put out two newsletters this year, and engaged in ongoing support for students of the section through four travel awards, three presentation awards, and one educational activity award. This year, the section also created a new award based on feedback received during the 2017 ABM, the Award for Clinical Excellence (ACE). As well, the section provided ongoing support for the Clinical Practice Guidelines initiative, and reviewed and proposed amendments to the Section Terms of Reference.

Aislin expressed thanks to the following individuals for their service on the executive: Dr. Maxine Holmqvist who is completing her term as past-chair, Dr. Caelin White who is completing his term as member-at-large, and Dr. Pamela Holens who is completing her term as secretary-treasurer. A thank-you was also directed to Dr. Elizabeth Levin and Dr. Andre Linett, who have served as our newsletter editors since 2011. Dr. Matilda Nowakowski and Mr. Flint Schwartz were welcomed as the new editors of the newsletter.

4. Report from the Secretary-Treasurer (Pamela Holens)

Financial Statement, June 2017 – June 2018

The financial statement for the period June 2017- June 2018 was provided to attendees and reviewed during the meeting. The Clinical Section continues to be in a solid position financially.

Proposed Budget, 2018-2019

The proposed budget for 2018-2019 was provided to attendees and reviewed during the meeting. The budget reflects the CPA directive to maintain a bank balance of under \$5000 at year end.

Motion to Accept the report of the Secretary-Treasurer: Pamela Holens; Deb Dobson (second)

5. Report from the Member-at-Large (Caelin White)

Caelin reported that his work on providing updates to members through the listserv continued throughout the year.

6. Report from the Student Representative (Matthew Bernstein)

Matthew reported on his efforts to enhance contact with student members via the Clinical and Student Section Listserv, the student column in the Newsletter, as well as announcements sent by email to psychology departments. There was a reduction in the number of applications for awards this year. Matthew reported that he hoped to see improvement in the number of applicants next year.

Clinical Section Educational Activity Grant for Students

The Educational Activity Grant provides funding for students to host educational activities for their peers and community members. Matthew reported that there were two applicants this year. The winner selected this year was Chloe Hudson, from Queen's University, for "Suicide Risk Assessment Workshop".

Clinical Section Student Travel Award

There were six applicants for the Student Travel Award this year, and four winners. This year's winners were: Ellen Jopling (University of British Columbia), Shayna Pierce (University of Manitoba), Jesse Lee Wilde (Western University), and Monica Tomlinson (Western University)

Clinical Section Best Student Conference Presentation Award

There were 6 applicants for the Best Student Conference Presentation Award this year (1 withdrawal), and there will be three awards (a first prize and two runners up). The winners will be announced following the 2018 conference.

Reporter Volunteers

Matthew provided a note of thanks to the students who volunteered to be reporters for this year's conference: Tatiana Sanchez & Andrea Antoniuk.

7. Report from the Chair-Elect (Kristin Reynolds)

Kristin expressed thanks to Dr. Caelin White who will be stepping in as chair during her leave, and noted that she will be back in February 2019.

Convention Submissions

Kristin provided the following information regarding the number of convention submissions received and submitted in each category:

Category	# Received	# Accepted
Discussion Forum	5	4
Spoken Presentation	8	6
Workshop	4	2
Symposium	4	4
Poster	121	105
Gimme-5	19	16

Thanks were expressed to the reviewers of this year's convention submissions: Douglas French, Patricia Furer, Jennifer Garinger, Pamela Holens, Maxine Holmqvist, Matthew Keough, Elizabeth Levin, Randi McCabe, Lachlan McWilliams, Aislin Mushquah, Janine Olthius, Allison Ouimet, Kristin Reynolds, Julie Riendeau, Karen Rowa, Missy Teatero, Kristel Thomassin, and Caelin White.

Ken Bowers Award for Student Research

The Ken Bowers Award for Student Research was established to honour the enormous contributions of Dr. Ken Bowers to the field of clinical psychology. The award recognizes the most meritorious submission to the Clinical Section of the CPA annual convention by a student member. This year's award recipient was Jeremiah Buhler, from the University of Manitoba, for his paper, "Efficacy of Online Chronic Pain Treatment for Military, Police, and Veterans."

Award for Clinical Excellence (ACE)

This new award recognizes members of the Clinical Section who have made outstanding contributions to the practice and profession of clinical psychology in Canada. This year's recipient was Dr. John Walker, from the University of Manitoba. The award was accepted on Dr. Walker's behalf by Dr. Patricia Furer)

Scientist Practitioner Early Career Award

This award recognizes members of the Clinical Section who are early into their careers and who exemplify the integration of the two core domains of clinical psychology – clinical practice and training, and psychological science and research. This year's award recipient was Dr. Christopher Mushquash, from Lakehead University.

Clinical Section Fellows

There were no applicants for Clinical Section Fellow this year.

8. Report from the Past-Chair

Clinical Section New Executive Members

Maxine reported that Brigitte Sabourin, Ph.D., C.Psych., would be taking on the role of Secretary-Treasurer and that Elizabeth Levin, Ph.D., C.Psych., would be taking on the role of Member-at-Large.

9. Proposed changes to the Terms of Reference (Maxine Holmqvist)

Maxine reported on the proposed changes to the allocation of duties among executive officers, per emails that were sent to members in April and May of this year. It was noted that these changes would be temporary for the 2018-2019 business year. The changes include the following:

- Section Communications moves to the portfolio of the Chair-Elect
- Fellows and Awards moves to the portfolio of the Past-Chair
- Convention Planning moves to the portfolio of the Member-at-Large

Motion to accept changes to the Terms of Reference: Maxine Holmqvist; Pamela Holens (second)

10. Other Business

- a. The section reception will follow this meeting in room 519A.
- b. Informational brochures about upcoming conferences are available at the front of the room.
- c. Question from the floor regarding why CPA is centralizing bookkeeping. Maxine responded with information regarding accounting requirements for non-profit organizations.
- d. Caelin expressed appreciation to Maxine for all her background work on the Clinical Practice Guidelines project.
- 11. Adjournment Motion to adjourn: Pamela Holens